Monday, October 6, 2008


Swazi Observer

3 October 2008


By Njabulo Dlamini

FATE will determine the future of teachers who resigned from the profession to join the elections race.

Whether they are re-engaged or turned down upon reapplying, depends on the Teaching Service Commission.

TSC Executive Secretary Moses Zungu confirmed this yesterday noting there were certain agreements each aspiring politician teacher entered into with the employer.

"We cannot make an umbrella statement that the teachers who lost elections (yet had resigned) would be re-engaged as that would be a mistake on our part. Rather, each case would be weighed according to agreements between the parties - employer and employee," Zungu said.

He said they had not granted any teacher leave of absence as required by the constitution and had their reasons why this was not so.

Such saw teachers like Mduduzi Simelane of Emagawugawu fame seeking the intervention of the court after the TSC turned his request for leave of absence down.

He lost the court application.

"Rather than applying for leave of absence, we advised most of these teachers to instead resign from the profession and they obliged. Resigning is unlike seeking leave of absence.

"But then again, each case would be handled according to individual merit for those who resigned".

He specifically cited the case of Bongani Mdluli (Madlangemphisi MP-elect) who was teaching at Mswati II Methodist High at Sidvwashini area in northern Hhohho.

Contacted on the case of teachers who either opted for early retirement or resigned from teaching, SNAT Secretary General Dominic Nxumalo said they could not do a thing to help them since they had exercised their democratic and constitutional right by joining the elections.

"They should instead contact the employer (TSC) since this has nothing to do with the organisation," Nxumalo briefly commented.

Amongst those who opted for early retirement is former SNAT Recording Secretary Saladin Magagula, who was nominated at Hhukwini constituency.

He lost the elections but has challenged the results arguing that the eventual winner Mkhululi Dlamini is not a resident of Hhukwini. The case is pending in court.

Other teachers who won include; Ntuthuko Dlamini (LaMgabhi) and Future Ntshangase (Shiselweni I).


No comments: